Agentura ochrany přírody a krajiny České republiky
Česká informační agentura životního prostředí (CENIA)
Česká geologická služba
Česká inspekce životního prostředí
Český hydrometeorologický ústav
Správa jeskyní České republiky
Správa Krkonošského národního parku
Správa Národního parku a chráněné krajinné oblasti Šumava
Správa Národního parku České Švýcarsko
Správa Národního parku Podyjí
Státní fond životního prostředí České republiky
Výzkumný ústav vodohospodářský T. G. Masaryka
Výzkumný ústav Silva Taroucy pro krajinu a okrasné zahradnictví, v.v.i.

Mladeč Caves


The Mladeč Caves (Mladečské jeskyně) are situated not far from the nature reserve Litovelské pomoraví (the region around the Morava river and the…


Opening hours


9:00 - 16:30

Complete list

Download opening hours


Contact person: Drahomíra Coufalová
783 21 Mladeč
+420 585 347 148, +420 728 264 197
49° 42' 23.100''N; 17° 00' 57.100''E

Show map

Routes and Entrance fee

cca 40 min
7-9 °C
99 %
400 m
Price list & sales

Entrance fee

  • Adults

    120,- Kč

  • Reduction

    100,- Kč

  • Child

    60,- Kč


The visitors descend from the entrance exposition in the building of the cave administration through the rock portal in the place of a former quarry to Dóm mrtvých (Dome of the Dead). These spaces were known in prehistoric times and then forgotten for a long time.

In the places where skeletal remains of Cro-Magnon people and Pleistocene animals were excavated, an example of a prehistoric fireplace and a small part of archaeological and paleontological findings is shown today. Historical memorial tablets on the cave walls commemorate both the places of findings and names of the remarkable explorers J. Szombathy and J. Fürst who conducted research in the years 1881 to 1922 here. In Dóm mrtvých you can feel an atmosphere of mystery and uncovered history. The cave tour continues then from the vast space supported by several huge rock pillars past the chimney filled with boulder debris which is, according to some opinions, probably the original entrance to the cave. The visitors can have a look into the highest level of the underground system and, passing huge cracked stalagmites, they come to Křižovatka (Crossing). There are five corridors that run out from a high space and lead into the so-called Labyrint (Labyrinth). The staircase then leads past the sinter formation Zkamenělý hřib (Petrified Mushroom) and the cave U ještěra (Lizard) to the lowest space open to the public – Modrá jeskyně (Blue Cave). The high underground dome with horrible looking blocks in the ceiling is 37 metresbelow the Earth's surface. The visitors then return from the cave called Modrá jeskyně to Kaple (Chapel), where a symbol of the cave is waiting – the over 2-metres-high beautiful stalagmite called Mumie (Mummy). From here the corridor leads to a high hall – Chrám přírody (Temple of Nature). There are beautifully coloured sinter coatings on the walls together with stalactite and stalagmite formations named according to their shapes – Beránek (Lamb), Holubice (Dove) or Zasněžený strom (Snowy Tree). The cave tour continues through the caves Bezejmenná jeskyně (Nameless Cave) and Netopýří jeskyně (Bat Cave) to the dome discovered by local residents from Mladeč in 1902. It was named Panenská jeskyně (Virgin Cave) with regard to a well-preserved stalactite and stalagmite decoration. Groups of stalagmites of many forms in this cave resemble known objects – Betlém (Bethlehem), Zkamenělý hrad (Petrified Castle), Madona (The Madonna) and others according to human imagination. The cave called Panenská jeskyně is also the largest area under the Třesín Hill.

The Mladeč Caves guided tour ends up back in Dóm mrtvých (Dome of the Dead). Thus, the last impression the visitors are left with when they come back to the Earth’s surface is the mysterious burial ground of our ancestors from the time of thirty thousand years ago and the bones of prehistoric animals it was surrounded by.

In 2003, the modern and sensitively restored trail offered an extraordinary experience for all.